Poll Tracker: Mexico's 2024 Presidential Vote

By Carin Zissis

Claudia Sheinbaum, Xóchitl Gálvez, and Jorge Álvarez Máynez are competing for the presidency. See polls ahead of the June 2, 2024 election.

This tracker was originally published on June 15, 2023 and has since been updated.

Who will succeed Mexican President Andrés Manuel López Obrador? We won't find out until the June 2, 2024 elections. But on March 1, the official campaign season starts. 

The frontrunner for López Obrador’s governing Morena coalition, Let's Keep Making History (Seguimos Haciendo Historia), is former Mexico City Mayor Claudia Sheinbaum. She will face Senator Xóchitl Gálvez of the Strength and Heart for Mexico (Fuerza y Corazon por México)—the main opposition alliance, made up of the National Action Party (PAN), the Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI), and the Party of the Democratic Revolution (PRD). 

In December 2023, Nuevo León Governor Samuel García of the Citizen's Movement (Movimiento Ciudadano/MC) party, withdrew his candidacy after heated controversy surrounding his moves to take temporary leave of his position. His campaign coordinator, Jorge Álvarez Máynez, a federal deputy, is taking his place

We track what the polls tell us about how voters are viewing the candidates and more.