Main menu

When Are Leaders from the Americas Speaking at the 72nd UN General Assembly?

September 18, 2017

Updated, September 25 — Fall in New York kicks off with the opening debate of the UN General Assembly. Per tradition, Brazil kicks off the General Debate of the 72nd session with remarks by President Michel Temer, with U.S. President Donald Trump following directly after in his first address to the body. The theme of this year’s debate is “Focusing on People: Striving for Peace and a Decent Life for All on a Sustainable Planet.”

Morning sessions run from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m., and afternoon ones from 3 to 9 p.m. Speakers are typically allotted 20 minutes per speech, although leaders—especially those from the Americas—regularly exceed their time. Remarks can be viewed via UN Web TV.

On the evening of Wednesday, September 20, AS/COA hosted a public broadcast with Pacific Alliance presidents and other officials.

Tuesday, September 19


3. Brazil, President Michel Temer (Remarks)

4. United States, President Donald Trump (Remarks)

12. Colombia, President Juan Manuel Santos (Remarks)


7. Costa Rica, President Luis Guillermo Solís (Remarks)

11. Guatemala, President Jimmy Morales (Remarks)

14. Bolivia, President Evo Morales (Remarks)

15. Honduras, President Juan Orlando Hernández (Remarks)

Wednesday, September 20


4. Guyana, President David Granger (Remarks)

6. Panama, President Juan Carlos Varela (Remarks)

9. Paraguay, President Horacio Cartes (Remarks)


1. Ecuador, President Lenín Moreno (Remarks)

2. Argentina, Vice President Gabriela Michetti (Remarks)

4. Chile, President Michelle Bachelet (Remarks)

20. Dominican Republic, Foreign Affairs Minister Miguel Vargas Maldonado (Remarks)

Thursday, September 21


2. Haiti, President Jovenel Moïse (Remarks)

13. Canada, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau (Remarks)

19. Mexico, Foreign Affairs Secretary Luis Videgaray Caso (Remarks)


1. El Salvador, President Salvador Sánchez Cerén (Remarks)

11. Antigua and Barbuda, Prime Minister Gaston Browne (Remarks)

Friday, September 22


11. Saint Lucia, Prime Minister Allen Chastanet (Remarks)

12. Cuba, Foreign Relations Minister Bruno Rodriguez (Remarks)


8. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Deputy Prime Minister Louis Straker (Remarks)

10. Belize, Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade Minister Wilfred Elrington (Remarks)

14. Barbados, Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade Minister Maxine McClean (Remarks)

Saturday, September 23


7. Dominica, Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit (Remarks)

11. Bahamas, Foreign Affairs Minister Darren Henfield (Remarks)


2. Suriname, Foreign Affairs Minister Yldiz Pollack-Beighle (Remarks)

6. Trinidad and Tobago, Foreign Affairs Minister Dennis Moses (Remarks)

8. Jamaica, Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade Minister Kamina Johnson Smith (Remarks)

12. Grenada, Foreign Affairs Minister Alvin Nimrod (Remarks)

14. Saint Kitts and Nevis, Foreign Affairs Minister Mark Anthony Brantley (Remarks)

Monday, September 25


1. Uruguay, Foreign Affairs Minister Rodolfo Nin Novoa (Remarks)

7. Peru, UN Delegation Chairman Gustavo Meza-Cuadra (Remarks)

8. Venezuela, Foreign Affairs Minister Jorge Arreaza

11. Nicaragua, UN Delegation Chairwoman Maria Rubiales de Chamorro