Main menu

Venezuela's Faltering Economy: What's Next?

Americas Society / Council of the Americas

April 25, 2016
SHARE:

Events

(Image: AP)

Media Collaborating Organization:

The International Monetary Fund estimates Venezuela’s economy will contract 8 percent this year and inflation will be 720 percent. Unemployment for 2016 is forecast at 17 percent. Moreover, the country is facing severe shortages of energy, water, food, and medicines as prices of oil remain low and an unprecedented drought persists.

The Americas Society and Council of the Americas will host a conversation with leading economic and political experts to discuss likely scenarios as Venezuela endures a political stalemate amid a historic economic recession.

The discussion will take place in Spanish, with simultaneous English translation. This event is part of our Venezuela Working Group series.

Speakers:

  • Alejandro Grisanti, Economist and former Venezuela Analyst at Barclays @agrisanti
  • Armando Briquet, Political Consultant and former Campaign Manager for Henrique Capriles' presidential bid @Armando_Briquet
  • Francisco Monaldi, Fellow in Latin American Energy Policy at the Baker Institute, Rice University @fmonaldi
  • Luz Mely Reyes, Journalist and Founder of Efecto Cocuyo (moderator) @LuzMelyReyes

Registration: This event is complimentary for all registrants.

Prior registration is required.

Event Information: Guillermo Zubillaga | gzubillaga@as-coa.org | 1-212-277-8362
Sponsorship Opportunities: Claudia Angulo | cangulo@as-coa.org | 1-212-277-8358
COA Corporate Membership Information: Monica Vieira | mvieira@as-coa.org | 1-212-277-8344
AS Individual Membership Information: Felipe Marin | fmarin@as-coa.org| 1-212-277-8342
Press Inquiries: Adriana La Rotta | alarotta@as-coa.org | 1-212-277-8384
Cancellation: Please contact Juan Serrano-Badrena at jserrano@counciloftheamericas.org before 3:00 p.m. on Friday, April 22.