Senators Announce Immigration Reform Proposal

On January 28, the so-called “Gang of Eight” senators announced their bipartisan plan for comprehensive immigration reform, with the intention to introduce the bill by late March and pass it by the late spring or early summer. Senators Michael Bennet (D-CO), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Jeff Flake (R-AZ), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), John McCain (R-AZ), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Marco Rubio (R-FL), and Chuck Schumer (D-NY) crafted the deal.