Main menu

2018 Latin American Cities Conferences: Santiago 

Americas Society / Council of the Americas

August 9, 2018
SHARE:

Events

(AdobeStock)

In Partnership with:

Perspectives on Chile: Reforms, the Economy, and the New Administration

As President Sebastián Piñera reassumes power after Chile's recent presidential elections, constituents are optimistic about the business and financial outlook for the country, driven by a strong economy, a unified and experienced governing coalition, and legislative reform. To discuss what comes next for President Piñera's administration, AS/COA, in partnership with Chile's Ministry of Finance, will host the thirteenth annual Latin American Cities Conference in Santiago. Leaders from both the private and public sectors will address opportunities and challenges arising from Chile's economic outlook, potential for foreign investment, and the ongoing efforts to bring about gender equality in the country. 

Follow the discussion on Twitter: #PerspectivasCL | @ASCOA

Speakers*:

  • Felipe Larraín, Finance Minister, Chile @felipelarrain
  • Victor Rico, Secretary General, Banco de Desarrollo de América Latina, CAF @AgendaCAF
  • Luis Valdés, President, Principal International @principal
  • Susan Segal, President and CEO, Americas Society/Council of the Americas @s_segal

*Additional speakers to be confirmed.

Registration: This event free to attend, though prior registration is required. 

Event Information: Cara Caponi ccaponi@as-coa.org |1-212-277-8368
Sponsorship Opportunities: Ana Calderon acalderon@as-coa.org 1-212-277-8358
COA Corporate Membership Information: Mila Fontana mfontana@as-coa.org |1-212-277-8331
Note: To view a list of COA coporate members, please click here.
Individual Membership Information: Beckie Bintrim bbintrim@as-coa.org |1-212-277-8342
Press Inquiries: mediarelations@as-coa.org
Cancellation: Please contact Juan Serrano-Badrena at jserrano@counciloftheamericas.org before 3:00 p.m. on Wednesday, August 8.

 

 

Download a PDF of the agenda.

Baje la agenda.

All times are in local Santiago time, which is in the same time zone as New York (UTC -4).

8:30 – 9:00 a.m.  Registration and Coffee

9:00 – 9:10 a.m. Welcoming Remarks

  • Susan Segal, President and CEO, Americas Society/Council of the Americas

9:10 – 9:30 a.m. Keynote Address

  • Felipe Larraín, Finance Minister of Chile

9:30 – 10:30 a.m.  Panel, “The Business Climate in Chile: An International Perspective”

A conversation with private-sector leaders and foreign investors on challenges and opportunities for growth and investment in key industries in Chile.

10:30 – 10:50 a.m. A Conversation on the Women’s Agenda in Chile

10:50 – 11:30 a.m. Panel, “Working toward Gender Parity”

A multisector conversation on the participation of women in the public and private sectors in Chile and the region. What can be done to bring about greater gender parity?

11:30 – 11:35 a.m. Closing Remarks

  • Susan Segal, President and CEO, Americas Society/Council of the Americas