Main menu

POSTPONED: Mario Davidovsky: Páginas 

Americas Society

March 16, 2020


(Roey Yohai Studios)

This event has been postponed until further notice. 

Join Music of the Americas in a performance celebrating the legacy of Argentine composer Mario Davidovsky. The concert will feature Americas Society-commissioned Divertimento a 8: Ambiguous Symmetries and Scenes from Shir ha-Shirim, which the composer wanted performed at his funeral. The concert will start with a screening of Un día en Médanos, documentary film that follows the composer’s visit to his hometown in rural Argentina after 70 years.



ICE premieres Mario Davidovsky's Divertimento for 8 "Ambiguous Symmetries"



Un día en Médanos (2014) :     Film by Guilermo Ueno  

Camera: Guillermo Ueno, Fernando Mariani
Sound: Rufino Basavilbaso, Federico Dopazo
Editing: Guillermo Ueno
Sound Editing: Rufino Basavilbaso
Sound Mixing: Estanislao López
Titles: David Maruchniak
Translation: Pablo Harguindey
Music: Mario Davidovsky
Divertimento for 8 "Ambiguous Symmetries" (2015)
For flute, clarinet, percussion, violin, viola, cello, bass, and piano
Barry Crawford, flute
Ben Fingland, clarinet
Miranda Cuckson, violin
Lois Martin, viola
Chris Gross, cello
Greg Chudzik, bass
Matt Gold, percussion
Steve Beck , piano
James Baker, conductor


Scenes from Shir ha-Shirim (2001)
            For soprano, 2 tenors, solo bass, and chamber ensemble
Sharon Harms, soprano
Brian Giebler ,tenor
John Ramseyer, tenor
Jonathan Woody, bass
Barry Crawford, flute
Gleb Kanesevich, clarinet
Arthur Sato, oboe
Miranda Cuckson, violin
Lois Martin, viola
John Popham, cello
Evan Runyon, bass
Matt Gold, percussion
Chris Oldfather, piano
                    James Baker, conductor